Skip to content

Getting back in touch

April 22, 2013

     Well it has been quite some time since my last post. I’m sure that any of you who may have been following had given up on the idea that there would be anymore post. I almost did as well. I’m back and ready to start taking on dealing with the daily task of transitioning and moving on with life. I was stuck in a bad place for a little while there. I’ll catch you up a bit.

     Well as of now I’m still unemployed. I can’t say that I have been looking as hard as I should be due to issues I am now working on. I sort of went into a hibernation for a while cutting myself of to the outside world and perhaps even parts of myself. The usual suspects played their role; depression, anxiety, etc… My therapist suggested that I may need the assistance of an anti-depressant so she made me an appointment with a psychiatrist. That was probably the turning point that led me to where I am now. He made me very uncomfortable by calling me he and young man. He also talked a lot about credentials he had which I though really had no correlation to my situation. In short I never started the anti-depressants and mostly because I couldn’t justify taking a prescription from someone who clearly had no understanding or even a professional empathy to what I am going through. I felt like he was just trying to hand me some candy from a pez dispenser. We all know what we should do when a stranger tries to give us candy right?  So there I was, at what I felt was getting to close to the bottom. No job, low self worth…. just fear and loathing, but not in Las Vegas. 😉

     Although I do not believe this outcome was his intentions he none the less helped me. The experience I had in his office reignited something inside of me. That uncomfortable feeling he gave me in his office reminded me that there is work to be done. Work on myself and my own insecurities and issues as well as work in education for myself and others. I’m still not exactly sure where this new spark is leading me as far as any details to this refreshed way of thinking, but I do know it starts with communication. It was his seemingly lack of knowledge or even proper responses to a trans-women in his office that made me realize if the professionals are still having issues in dealing with transgenderism then we definitely have a lot of work ahead breaking the barriers and building a better future for others trying to fulfill their true selves. 

     I suppose the moral of this post is that our transitioning isn’t really just about what we look like or how we interact in public. It’s not just about an operation or what we have decided to do with our bodies. Its a movement in human rights. A conversation that has to be had. I am just now beginning to see how much bigger it really is than just my small part of the whole. COMMUNICATION PEOPLE. USE YOUR VOICE. LET’S TALK ABOUT IT!!!!!

From → transgender

2 Comments
  1. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my weblog so i came to “return the favor”.

    I am attempting to find things to improve my website!I suppose its ok to use some
    of your ideas!!

    • It’s all good hun…. We are all here to share thoughts and ideas. Hope all is well and that you are living fabulously

Leave a Reply

